Reasons to Be Thankful

Standard

This strange routine sometimes weighs down on me
But I wouldn’t trade it
Not for anything
Maybe there’s nothing
Only this moment

I think too many times I forget to take a mental inventory of what is going right in life; the chaos (usually self-created) seems to threaten to knock off course positivity. So today, as kind of a du’a of sorts, I offer thanks for the following things and pray for their well-being:

-A loving girlfriend, even if she has to leave the country shortly; hope she’ll be back so we can pick things back up

-Two older roommates; you guys have become my siblings here in DC

-A loving family

-Diverse friends and even the times we do not always see eye-to-eye

-My health

-Opportunities to use my talents and help others

-Struggles that fortify my faith/commitment to DIY

Also, I think this verse beautifully summarizes why I am confident in a great future involving all of these things: “Allah intends for you ease, and He does not want to make things difficult for you.” 2:165

Salams for now.

Leave a Reply

