Big Mouth, You’re Getting on My Nerves: On Ramadan and A New Found Dislike for Cursing

Standard

Image

The other day someone posted on a Facebook link I uploaded earlier and proceeded to use “fuck” in their comment, expressing excitement for our shared interests that we had not seen before. Had you asked me if this would have bothered me much before Ramadan, I doubt it; I am as guilty as the next person for using curses to fill-in my vocabulary. This fact is funny to me since I can still remember being a little kid and worrying about saying “crap” in front of my parents, let alone any en vogue curses.

Back to the story at hand, though. My reason for documenting this situation is not to shame someone for cursing; be my guest. I do, however, now see why I reacted so strongly post-Ramadan beginning. For those both fasting or just supporting those who are, the fast also entails abstaining from our usual “vices.” Looking at myself, this includes no coffee (I would love to have coffee any other time to talk), cursing, getting heated, and other things that are, how do I say, a bit more private. Anyways, I think at the core of this particular example and my reaction is that I honestly believe cursing is a lazy means of speaking and/or expressing an emotion to one another. Do you really need to say, “I love that shit!” I doubt it. 

In the words of Minor Threat, the prolific 80s DC hardcore band, “Flex your head.”

Salams for now.

2 responses »

  1. Andrew, I was completely unaware that you would be so offended by my choice of language. In a addition, my familiarity with Ramadan is such that I was also unaware of the abstinence from “usual vices”. I sincerely apologize if any of that struck a nerve with you.

    However, I think it’s unfair to assume cursing is a lazy means of speaking. Sure, it’s become a societal norm to use curse words to express excitement, etc. But would it have been easier for me to say “How the heck”, or “how in the world”, etc? I don’t assume so. I think the word that I used has become culturally re-appropriated (especially so in the music interests we likely share) and it now parallels any another word in the vocabulary to choose from.

    Nonetheless, I apologize and will be sure to refrain from cursing in any interaction with you! Best of luck with the remainder of Ramadan!

    • Hey man,

      Thanks for the feedback, and to be clear, my intention is not to shame people here. More times than not I’m not guilty of the same stuff; just want to hold a mirror to our actions. As for cultural reappropriation, I agree certain words have been but I still would say using, even casually, isn’t always necessary. Believe me, I’ve caught myself even this month cursing without thinking; I’m more interested in pushing myself to find alternatives than try and dictate others’ lives. I guess bottom line: cursing can be cathartic, just let’s not alway make them our default when stuff happens, good or bad.

      Thanks for the wishes and I’m sure I’ll see you around at shows, although fewer in Baltimore because of giving up my car.

Leave a Reply

